Skip to content

Error: "Maximum number of company files activated"

If you receive this message, it means that you've already activated the maximum number of company files available under your licence entitlement. The number of files you can activate depends on the product or subscription you have purchased.

Typically AccountRight premier entitles you to 2 company files, and AccountRight Plus, Standard and Basics entitle you to 1 company file.

Activation is only required once per file

You only need to activate a company file once. If you’re prompted to activate a file that you’re sure has already been activated, you are probably opening a different copy of that file on your computer (such as a file you've restored in the past). Check that you’re opening the correct file.

If you want to activate this file, here are your options:

  • Deactivate one of your other files: If you previously activated a file that you no longer need to enter business transactions into, or you activated a file by mistake, you can deactivate that file. This will free up the activation entitlement so you can activate another file. The deactivated file will become read-only, but you can still view all transactions and records in the file and print reports. You can only deactivate a file if you contact us (on the Contact Us page, click the chat button at the bottom or scroll down for other options).

  • Buy an activation entitlement: If you want to use this company file in addition to other company files you have activated, you can buy additional activation entitlements if you contact us (on the Contact Us page, click the chat button at the bottom or scroll down for other options).

Having other issues activating? See Activation and confirmation errors.

To deactivate a file, buy additional activation entitlements, enquire about pricing, or resolve any issues, please contact us (on the Contact Us page, click the chat button at the bottom or scroll down for other options).

FAQs