Skip to content

Restricting user access to clients

There may be clients in your database whose details you wish to keep confidential and give access to only certain staff in your practice.

As an MYOB Practice Administrator, you can restrict other staff from seeing certain clients in MYOB Practice.

Add or remove client restrictions

The way you restrict user access to clients depends on which software you use.

MYOB Practice Administrators can access all clients.

If you use MYOB Practice and are

Set up restrictions:

not an MYOB AE user

Set up in MYOB Practice (see below for instructions).

an MYOB AE user

Make sure Contacts Migration is activated.
Set up Team Security in MYOB AE. Those security settings will apply to your clients and staff in MYOB Practice.If your practice has multiple AE/AO databases, the client restrictions apply in the database that the client's been added to in your practice.

an MYOB AO (NZ) user

Make sure Contacts Migration is activated.
Set up Team Security in MYOB AO. Those security settings will apply to your clients and staff in MYOB Practice.

I'm an MYOB Practice user (without MYOB AE/AO)

Choose which client you want to make a restricted client, and then choose which users you want to be able to access the restricted clients.

What happens when a client is restricted?

MYOB Practice Administrators can access all clients.

An MYOB Practice user (who's not an Administrator) can be restricted from viewing certain clients and other features that are related to that client.

Here's a summary of how different activities in MYOB Practice are restricted for users who don't have access to a restricted client.

More role restriction options