Accessing Employee Setup
Employee setup is accessible under the Maintenance Menu in MPM, provided you have the necessary permissions.
Adding or editing employees
To add a new employee, select the +NEW button.
To edit an existing employee, click on their name to open their properties.
Any cells highlighted in yellow are mandatory fields.
Not covered below for AU and NZ employee setups
User Defined Fields
Documents
Disb Documents
These tabs are not commonly used for employee setup in Australia and New Zealand
Employee Details tab

The following fields need to be completed for each employee:
Field | Notes |
|---|---|
Code | This will push to AE/AO as Employee Code. Do not change once set up |
First/Surname/ Display Name | Select and complete as appropriate. |
Office | Select the processing office. Invoices default to this office when raised by this employee. |
Service Line | Complete as required by your Practice. |
Category | Can be Partner / Manager / Staff. This field will also control if the employee can be assigned as Partner or Manager on a client. You can set up additional categories if required |
Sub Service | Always set to “Unassigned”. |
Login | Always use the employee’s work email (this usually works best with other integrations) |
Email address for notifications (usually same as login) | |
Standard Hours | Set based on timesheet requirements. For casual staff, enter lower hours or zero as appropriate. |
Telephone/Mobile/Fax | Visible to other staff on the Home Page when the employee is logged in. |
Employee Rates tab

Only existing rates are relevant (ignore cost rates).
Change the ‘from’ date and click the refresh wheel to check for existing rates.
Do not override rates. When updating a rate, set up a new rate with the appropriate effective date - the system will use the most recent rate.
If employees work across offices, they must have a rate for each office.
Employee Security tab
To ‘activate’ the security tab you will need to click the ‘Save’ button within the Details screen. You will then need to click ‘Save’ in the Security tab.
When the screen populates as below the employee has been created as a ‘User’. You will not be able to change the username once this has happened (see below for what to do when an employee leaves for instructions here)
It is important to understand the difference between Employees and Users in MPM:
Employees: Staff members recorded in MPM for timesheets, or other purposes.
Users: Employees who have been granted login access to the MPM site.
Employees who are not created as Users will not have access to MPM. This is common for staff who do not need access—for example, where another staff member is responsible for completing their timesheets.

Each staff member must have at minimum the Staff Security Role.
Multiple roles can be assigned as required.
Refer to Security Role Summary documents in the Nimbus folder ‘Customer Assistance (Client Portal)’ for additional guidance.
Employee Approvals tab
Approvals work together with Security Roles to manage access and actions in MPM.
How Approvals Work
Security Roles control what you can see and access in your MPM site (e.g., menu items, functions).
Approvals control what you can do with those items (e.g., action, approve, or post).
Important Notes
Approval processes are not available for Clients or Tasks.
You can add or remove approval permissions as required.
Managing Approval Permissions
Navigate to the Approvals section in your settings.
Use the arrows in the middle of the screen to move items:
► to add approval permissions
◄ to remove approval permissions
Save your changes.
Approval Options Tab: Assign relevant processes for each employee, including: -
Time & Expenses - will the employee approve or post their own or other employees’ timesheets
Fees / Credit Notes / Receipts – will the employee approve or post their own or other employees’ items fees/invoices, credit notes or receipts
WIP Adjustments – will the employee approve or post their own or other WIP Adjustments (this is rarely used – likely only for Administrators or Practice Managers)
Time & Expense Capture for Team – will the employee need to complete or review in detail and make changes to other employees’ timesheets

Employees Tab: Allocate which employees the current employee can approve or post items for. If you have multiple offices, use the Office filter at the top.
Select the desired process from the dropdown.
Move eligible staff across for each approval type.
Assigning self-approval (e.g. for timesheets) is common.

Assign Approvers Tab: Shows who can approve items for the current employee (e.g. fees, timesheets). Any changes here or in the Employees tab will reflect in both.

Personal lists and secure views
The Personal Lists/Secure Views feature restricts which clients an employee can see.
Important: If a client is restricted for one employee, it will be hidden for other employees unless access is granted. This can impact search results and reporting.
Restrictions may be based on office (ie. Employees can only see clients in the specific office/s allocated to them) or to a specific client.
When allocating offices to one employee, all employees must be assigned offices.
You can access Secure Views from either the Client Enquiry screen OR the Employee Maintenance screen.

You can then add the secure views either based on Employee or Client.
Employee
For Office - select Secure Office box from drop down and add all offices’ you would like the Employee to be able to see
For Clients – start typing in the ‘Secure Protected’ box to allow this client to see a specific client. Note as soon as you add a client to this box for 1 employee it will lock/hide that client for all others. You will need to add the client to Secure Protected for all employees who are allowed to view.

Client
Search and drop down the client you wish to restrict
In Secure Protected box start adding all employees who will be allowed to view client. If they are not included they will not be able to view.

Example: The screenshot below shows that Amelia can access “A Business Pty Ltd” and only Sydney office clients as viewed under ‘Personal Lists’ in the employee tab.

Sending a welcome email to staff
To invite staff into MPM you simply click the ‘Send Email’ button at the top of the Employee Profile. This will send an email to the email address in the profile. They can set up their password and MFA which requires the use of an Authenticator app such as Google Authenticator.
