Skip to content

Deleting items

You can delete an item if it hasn't been used in a transaction. When an item is deleted, it's completely removed along with all its details.

Instead of deleting an item, how about deactivating the item instead? This removes the item from reports and some selection lists. It also means you can reactivate the item later if you need to.

But if you really need to delete an item, here's how.

To delete an item

To delete an item

  1. From the Sales menu, choose Items. The Items page appears listing all your active items.

  2. Click the item you want to delete. The Item page appears, showing the item details. Need help finding the item?

  3. Click Delete. A confirmation message appears.

  4. Click Yes to delete the item. If the item can't be deleted (if it's been used in a transaction) you'll see a message about it.

Find sales containing an item If you can't delete an item because it's been used in a transaction, run the Item sales report to find the sales containing that item. You'll find this report via the Reporting menu > Reports Item sales.