Skip to content

Deleting an account

If there's an account in your AccountRight accounts list that you don't need, you can only delete it if:

  • the account has never been used in a transaction, i.e. its balance has always been zero

  • the account is not linked to another record, such a card, item or tax code. If it is, you first need to unlink it from the record. If you need help finding the records to which an account is linked, see the FAQ below.

If the account has been used in a transaction, you will not be able to delete it, even after deleting the transaction. This makes sure you keep the history of accounts used in transactions for auditing reports.

As an alternative, you can make the account inactive or combine the account with another account to remove it from the Accounts List.

An account with journal entries may not be deleted

If an account has been used in a transaction, this creates journal entries in AccountRight. This means the account can't be deleted.

Example error stating account can't be deleted

To delete an account

  1. Go to the Lists menu and choose Accounts. The Accounts List window appears.

  2. Locate the account you want to delete and click the arrow () next to it. The account details appear in the Account Information window.

    Accounts list with 2 accounts highlighted
  3. Go to the Edit menu and choose Delete Account.

    Edit menu clicked with delete account option highlighted

Delete Account greyed-out?

Your user role needs to be set up with permission to delete transactions. If you need to regularly change transactions, ask your administrator to add this permission to your user role.

FAQs