Skip to content

User-defined fields (UDF)

UDFs are especially helpful when you would like to capture information against clients in a consistent way.

If you had any ‘Extras’ in AE/AO they should have been migrated to MPM as a UDF.

They also integrate with Nimbus and other third‑party software, making them useful across multiple systems. For example, tagging all clients who require a BAS to be prepared can enable bulk mail‑outs in some systems.

You can view and UDFs on the Client card.

Viewing UDFs on a client

Select the ‘User Defined’ button to view any UDFs already added.

Adding, changing and removing UDFs on a client

Navigate to the Edit area and ‘User Defined’

  • Use the search field to add a UDF and select details

  • To change an existing UDF simply make the change in the Details area

  • Click SAVE when finalised

Setting up new UDFs in Maintenance

Navigate to the Maintenance Menu > User Defined Fields

Select the Type (usually Client)

  • Click New.

  • Complete the Code (maximum of 10 characters, no special characters) and Description , then click Save.

  • This will populate the remaining fields.

    • Select whether the field is Mandatory (this will require the field to be completed for every client before the client record can be saved).

      • Choose whether the field requires validation (for example, a specific number of characters).

      • Select the Data Type.

      • If the data type is List , choose whether multiple selections are allowed.

      • If categories have been set up, you can also select the appropriate category.

      • To add list options, ensure values are entered in both the Data and Description columns.

Adding list details

Once complete click SAVE

Editing an existing UDF

  • In the Maintenance > User Defined Fields screen

  • Use the Edit icon to open the UDF

  • Make changes

  • Save

Deactivating a UDF

If you no longer wish to use a UDF going forward, you can deactivate it by un ticking the Active checkbox.

  • In the Maintenance > User Defined Fields screen

  • Use the Edit icon to open the UDF

  • Untick ‘Active’ box

  • Save

You cannot delete a UDF.

Deactivating a UDF will block it from being available to select in the Client UDF screen. It will NOT remove the UDF from clients where it has already been added.