Skip to content

Client - Task Maintenance

Accessing client tasks

To edit tasks for a client, select Client Enquiry from the CRM menu at the top of the screen.

This opens the Client Enquiry screen. In the search box, enter the name of the client you want to edit (for example, African Mobile Services).

Click the Edit button to the left of the client’s name and choose Tasks from the drop-down list. This will open the Practice Management Task Maintenance screen.

Creating new tasks and editing existing tasks

The green section at the top of the screen is used to create a new task.

The lower section lists the existing tasks associated with the client.

To add a new task, click in the Task Code field, start typing, and select the relevant task from the list.

This will pre-populate the New Task area with the relevant information, including Office , Partner , Manager , Bill Manager and Group.

If any of this information needs updating, use the relevant drop-down fields to make the changes. If no changes are required, click Save.

If the Task Open Date needs to be updated, set the correct date before clicking Save.

Once saved, the new task will appear in the lower section of the screen with the other tasks for the client.

Terminating a task

To terminate a task, select the relevant task so the details load into the Update Task area. Set the Close Date , and when prompted, select Yes to confirm.

If there are any WIP balances attached to the task, a list will be displayed. Tasks with WIP balances cannot be terminated.

You can export this list to Excel for further investigation or to finalise the work. Once finished, click Close.

If there is no WIP, after selecting the appropriate date, click Save.

Once the task has been terminated, it will no longer appear in the list of tasks at the bottom of the screen.

Within Practice Management, you can show or hide terminated tasks by selecting Show Terminated or Hide Terminated. Once all relevant changes have been applied, click Close.

Restricting time or expense capture

If you need to temporarily restrict time or expense capture on a task without terminating it, you can disallow Time/Expense Capture.

To do this, open the task and, in the green section at the top of the screen, untick Allow Time/Expense Capture , then click Save.

While this option is unticked, no additional time or disbursements can be recorded against the task.