If you no longer want to use a customer or supplier, but can't delete them from MYOB (because they've been used in a transaction, for example), you can deactivate them. This is usually a better option because deleting them permanently removes their details.
When you deactivate a contact:
their details are stored in case you need them again in the future
they're removed from reports (some reports, like the Contacts report, have the option to include inactive contacts)
their transactions remain unaffected
they won’t appear in lists of available contacts when you enter transactions. This reduces clutter, making it easier to find contacts.
To deactivate a contact
Go to the Contacts menu and choose All contacts.
Click the name of the contact to be deactivated. Need help finding a contact?
Select the option Inactive contact.
To see deactivated contacts
To see your deactivated contacts on the Contacts page, select the option Show inactive.