Skip to content

Deactivating or reactivating a record

If deleting a record (like a card, stock item or account) isn't an option, you can make the record inactive. This is handy if you have records that you rarely use—for example, a card you created for a one-off sale, or an employee who's been temporarily suspended.

Inactivating records removes them from selection lists. Your list of records will be shorter and, consequently, selecting the record you need will be easier. You can still use an inactive record in transactions by manually entering the record name.

Card, item and account reports have a filtering option (when choosing what to show in the report) to include inactive records in your reports.

If you need to reactivate a terminated employee, see Reinstating an employee.

To deactivate or reactivate a record

  1. Display the list to which the record belongs. For example, if you are making changes to an account, display the Accounts List window; if you are changing an item, display the Items List window, and so on.

  2. Locate the record you want to inactivate (or reactivate). To view inactive records, select the option Show inactive.

  3. Click the zoom arrow (    ) next to the record. The record’s details appear.

  4. If you are inactivating or reactivating a card, account, activity or item, click the Profile tab.

  5. Select (or deselect) the Inactive [...] option.

To deactivate or reactivate bulk records

If you have lots of records to deactivate or reactivate, doing it one at a time can take a while. A quicker way is to export the records, update the file in Microsoft Excel, then import the updated information back into AccountRight.

If you're unsure about this process, try it first using AccountRight's sample company file, Clearwater. It's only a sample company file so you can't break anything.

Let's take you through it.